Hypnosis

Posted: February 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

So I have been sleeping quite poorly lately. The stressors of regular life have begun to get to me. I have been worried about money, health of loved ones, school work, etc. Last night I decided to give hypnosis a try to fall asleep.

I downloaded a free ap on my Iphone and turned it on. I tried so hard to pay attention to the voice and do everything he was telling me to do. In a brief summary it focused on breathing patterns and releasing tensin from head to toe. I remember my mind wandering to stressors a few times, but I was pretty disciplined in returning back to the voice on the recording. I also remember thinking that this was just not working for me.

The next thing I knew I woke up naturally one minute before my alarm at 4:39am. I felt energized and completely ready to attack my day. It was the first good night sleep I have gotten in weeks! This worked so well I felt I would share it with everyone.

Deep breathing and meditation have been used in the treatment of stress management for thousands of years. Breathing exercises can actually lower heart rate and decrease the arousal state (Lee, 1999). A simple Google search of breathing and sleep, meditation and stress management, or any combination will turn up thousands of peer-reviewed papers. I found a link to the University of Maryland’s Medical Center that has some really good audio files and techniques to help achieve the same quality sleep that I had last night. Enjoy!!!

http://www.umm.edu/sleep/relax_tech.htm#c

Leave a comment